Soundtrack to a Savage WW2-Fantasy Campaign

UntitledJust finished Part 7 of what was supposed to be a 3 or 4-session Savage Worlds campaign that’s sort of a Weird Wars-Changeling WoD mashup. The number of Player Wild Cards and NPCs is getting pretty crazy. To help keep track of their various personalities and motivations, I’ve decided to give each character their own song (akin to my article a little while back, Story and Soundtrack to a Savage World of Darkness). Here goes:

Max Graff, Weird Scientist and Jewish-Czech resistance leader (Player). An analytical mind combined with some anger-management issues when it comes to Fascists.

The Scientist by Coldplay:

I was just guessing at numbers and figures
Pulling your puzzles apart
Questions of science, science and progress
Do not speak as loud as my heart

Cleo Lancashire, the Office of Special Investigation’s designated giant-killer (Player). Trained by Athena herself, Cleo is a fierce warrior with a lot of voices in her head.

Under Pressure by Queen:

It’s the terror of knowing
What this world is about
Watching some good friends
Screaming, “Let me out!”
Tomorrow gets me higher
Pressure on people – people on streets

Chippin’ around, kick my brains ’round the floor
These are the days – it never rains but it pours
People on streets – people on streets

Kamilla, Gypsy Mage and OSS-trained OSI agent (Player). Elemental powers with a sprinkling of Old-World magic, mixed with a slightly delusional personality.

Sitting, Waiting, Wishing by Jack Johnson:

Now I was sitting waiting wishing
That you believed in superstitions
Then maybe you’d see the signs

Nyles Trimble, Elf (Player). A relatively young Elf tactician, perhaps only a few centuries old, he is Captain of the Players’ crew and  is one of Queen Aurora’s only Allies among her own race — for very personal reasons:

Falling Slowly by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova:

Falling slowly, eyes that know me
And I can’t go back
Moods that take me and erase me
And I’m painted black
You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It’s time that you won

Queen Aurora, Elf (NPC). Unlikely leader of the resistance against the Ogre-King, Killgore — her husband. Almost universally reviled for willingly giving herself over to this monster, her plan may be the Fae’s last hope.

Secret Garden by Bruce Springsteen:

You’ve gone a million miles
How far did you get
To that place where you can’t remember
And you can’t forget

She’ll lead you down a path
There’ll be tenderness in the air
She’ll let you come just far enough
So you know she’s really there
She’ll look at you and smile
And her eyes will say
She’s got a secret garden
Where everything you want
Where everything you need
Will always stay
A million miles away

Axeblood, Leader of the Gray Elves. Eldest son of Aurora and Killgore, this ten-foot tall battle-scarred warrior practically glows with power — much like his chainmail-adorned siblings. Living among the Ogres under the rule of King Killgore, they secretly work toward their mother’s final goal.

Mama Said Knock You Out by LL Cool J:

Listen to the way I slaaaaay, your crew
Damage (UHH) damage (UHH) damage (UHH) damage
Destruction, terror, and mayhem
Pass me a sissy so suckas I’ll slay him
Farmers (What!!!) Farmers (What!!!)
I’m ready (we’re ready!!!)
I think I’m gonna bomb a town (get down!!)

I’m gonna knock you out
Mama said knock you out

Killgore, King of the Ogres (Villain). Granted superior intelligence and a new purpose to his existence after drinking from the Holy Grail, he aims to bring his “people” into the real world — to terrible effect.

Possession by Sarah McLachlan:

Listen as the wind blows
From across the great divide
Voices trapped in yearning
Memories trapped in time
The night is my companion
And solitude my guide
Would I spend forever here
And not be satisfied

There have been a ton of other NPCs, good guys and bad guys, but I think that covers the major ones helping drive the story. Hope the Players like this.

Leave a Reply

